Arkansas Car Insurance Laws and Requirements


United States flag in shape of ArkansasThe Natural State requires that all motorists that maintain financial responsibility while operating a motor vehicle.  Prior to titling and registering an automobile in AR proof of a liability insurance policy must be shown to the Office of Motor Vehicles. Liability policies must consist of at least the following coverage:
  • $25,000 for bodily injury per person
  • $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
  • $25,000 for property damage
The state verifies that all registered automobiles are covered by a liability policy through the Arkansas Insurance Verification and Notification Network which is a program that all insurers must participate in and electronically report any updates regarding automobile policies. Licensed auto insurance companies must report any updates regarding the issuance of a new policy, reinstatements, non-renewals and cancellations.

Policy information is stored in the Arkansas car insurance database and failure to maintain coverage will result in the vehicle's status marked as "not insured". This may occur when the state is notified by a carrier of a cancellation and can lead to the suspension of vehicle registration and proof of coverage will need to be sent electronically by an insurer to have an automobile re-registered.

Financial Responsibility Requirements Following an Accident

Arkansas with blue backgroundMotorists that are involved in traffic accidents that result in property damage that exceeds an amount of $1,000 and/or the injury or death of any person must report the accident within thirty (30) days by submitting a Safety Responsibility SR-1 accident report. In addition, an SR-21 proof of insurance showing liability coverage is in force must also be submitted and filled out by a licensed insurer.

The state may require additional items such as a deposit of security, written releases of liability, written and notarized statements, a bankruptcy petition. For a full list of requirements that may be mandated by the state, residents should contact the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration for more details.

Get auto insurance quotes:   
Zip Code:
insured:yesno