Locate Cheap Auto Insurance in California

Since no two insurers price policies the same way, shoppers searching for the cheapest car insurance in California will need to compare personalized rate quotes from a variety of companies. And shoppers can do this in the most efficient manner by completing the following quote-comparison form. Simply input a ZIP code below, which will bring up a short form requesting only non-sensitive information necessary to generate multiple quotes. After completing the form, rates are provided from a handful of reputable California auto insurance companies.

Progressive InsuranceGMAC InsuranceInfinity InsuranceUnitrin InsuranceCarnegie General Insurance

Man and woman shopping online

Begin an instant online quote comparison to find cheaper CA auto insurance:

ZIP code:TRUSTe Certified Privacy
  • 100% free
  • No obligation to buy
  • Rates from multiple companies
  • No personal info required
Currently insured:yesnoVerisign Secure

Bristol West InsuranceWestern General InsuranceWestern United InsuranceAccess General InsuranceExplorer Insurance

Compare CA Car Insurance Quotes to Find Cheap Rates

There are 19 different factors—such as driving history, marital status and a car's make and model—that insurers in the state are allowed to take into account when setting rates. No two insurers weigh those factors identically, so conducting a CA auto insurance comparison showing prices for multiple companies is the only way to get a full picture of a driver's coverage options and to find the cheapest rates.

Example Quotes*:

Company A$580
Company B$600
Company C$680
Company D$740
Company E$764
Company F$766
Company G$776
Company H$820
Company I$824
Company J$908
Company K$932
Company L$1,108
Company M$1,125

*These are actual quotes for a 15/30/5 policy for a 30-year-old, single male who has no tickets or accidents and lives in Los Angeles

To see how a typical driver's access to cheap California car insurance can fluctuate widely among different insurers, check out the table showing example quotes on the left side of the screen. Out of 13 rate quotes for a bare-bones policy, a 30-year-old, single male could be quoted as low as $580 a year to as high as $1,125 a year, depending on the company.

CA Coverage Requirements
California car insurance laws require drivers to have the following liability coverages:
  • $15,000 Bodily Injury Liability (coverage per person)
  • $30,000 Bodily Injury Liability (coverage per accident)
  • $5,000 Property Damage Liability (coverage per accident)
But this coverage—commonly abbreviated as 15/30/5—is only the minimum amount of protection that policies in the state must provide.

Choosing the Best Car Insurance in California
Drivers may want to buy protection that exceeds the minimum limits, since in serious accidents medical costs per person can easily exceed $15,000 and property damage costs can easily total more than $5,000. The best CA auto insurance is one that adequately protects the insured from liabilities for significant damage that is worse than average. The Insurance Information Institute says that, in 2009, the average bodily injury claim was about $13,500, and the average property damage claim was about $2,900.

Note that liability policies pay only for other parties' damages that are caused by the policyholder. They will not provide compensation for the policyholder's own damages. Drivers may want to factor in comprehensive, collision, medical payments and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage when getting California car insurance quotes to find out how much it would cost to insure against their own losses.

Why Purchase California Car Insurance?
There are around 450,000 to 500,000 accidents reported annually in the Golden State, according to the Highway Patrol. Approximately 60 percent of those are property-damage only, while the remaining 40 percent result in injuries and, in some cases, fatalities.

At that rate, licensed drivers in the state have greater than a 1-in-25 chance of getting into an accident over the course of a year, a fact that—along with the state's financial responsibility laws—makes choosing to buy auto insurance in California a sensible financial decision.

There are also legal penalties for not having a policy. Motorists who are found to be uninsured may be fined hundreds of dollars, according to the state vehicle code. Vehicles may also be impounded if they turn out to be uninsured. And, of course, uninsured drivers who cause accidents may have to pay out of pocket for the damages they cause.

Questions about CA Coverage

  • How Are CA Policyholders Affected by Distracted Drivers?

    CaliforniaEasy access to emails, text messages, and phone calls has made it easier for California residents to communicate, but this same technology can also help cause serious accidents and increased insurance premiums for people behind the wheel. When motorists...

  • How Much Do CA Low-Income Insurance Policies Cost?

    Man with empty pockets in front of California flagWhen it comes to finding cheap California car insurance, the first piece of advice that is usually given is to shop around. Californians are lucky when it comes to the options available for auto insurance. Not only are there seemingly countless insurers to...

  • How Can I Prove I Have CA Auto Insurance?

    Lady receiving a traffic ticketWhen motorists purchase vehicle coverage, they typically receive an insurance card that lists all of the information necessary to prove that the driver in question is insured. On these cards, policyholders should find the names of the insured, the insurer, policy number, effective and...

California Auto Insurance News

  • California Officials to Vote on Ridesharing at August Meeting

    July 11, 2014 - Insurance requirements for Lyft, Uber and Sidecar drivers may get tighter when the California Public Utilities Commission (CPUC) votes next month on changes to how it regulates the app-based rideshare services. The smartphone-based services ...

  • Car Insurance Laws Go into Effect at Turn of New Year

    December 31, 2013 - The New Year that begins tomorrow will mean a few changes to car insurance-related laws in several states across the U.S. Beginning Wednesday, drivers in California, Texas, Oklahoma and Nevada will be subject to new laws taking effect. California auto policies can be renewed electronically under a law that goes into effect on Jan. 1 ...

  • NICB: Several States Saw More Questionable Claims in 2010-12

    December 16, 2013 - Questionable claims (QCs) submitted under personal auto insurance policies increased for California, Colorado, Massachusetts, and Florida between 2010 and 2012, according to the National Insurance Crime Bureau's (NICB) recent breakdown of QCs originating from five specific states. The bureau also reported that Michigan generated ...

Articles about Insurance in California

  • Calif. Judge to Drivers with Cell Phones: Hands Off Everything

    April 11, 2013 - A ruling handed down in California last month should be noted by addicted-to-the-Internet drivers (aka all Californians). An appeals court judge set tighter restrictions on drivers' use of cell phones, siding with a police citation levied against Steven Spriggs for looking at Google Maps directions while behind the wheel...

  • Your California Proposition 33 Cheat Sheet

    Nov 05, 2012 - Proposition 33 would allow California car insurance companies to raise or lower your rates or determine your eligibility for coverage based on how consistently you've had insurance over the course of the past five years. Currently, they can't do that. The only way your...

  • Proposition 33's 'Price Setting' Controversy

    Aug 03, 2012 - It's not a surprise that a proposition on the November ballot in California is getting a lot of attention from people on both sides of the issue. However, with a...