Illinois Car Insurance Laws
|The Prairie State mandates that all motor vehicle owners have an auto insurance policy in effect at all times that must meet the state's minimum liability requirements. In addition, Illinois law also requires that motorists carry Uninsured Motorist (UM) coverage to pay for bodily injuries sustained by insureds if struck by a driver that does not have a liability policy. Automobile policies must consist of the following coverage as a minimum:|
Enforcement of IL Auto Insurance LawIllinois' motorists are required to carry proof of insurance in the covered vehicle at all times while driving, which must be shown to any law enforcement officer upon their request. An officer can request such documentation during a traffic stop or upon arriving at the scene of an accident. If a motorist is unable to furnish evidence that the vehicle is insured, the officer may issue a citation to the driver and if convicted, the vehicle's license plates will be suspended and the driver will face a minimum fine of $500. If a motorist is caught and convicted of driving a vehicle while the license plates are suspended for a previous coverage violation they will face a minimum fine of $1,000.
The state also uses a computer to select vehicles at random for coverage verification. If the computer selects a particular automobile, the owner will receive an insurance verification form from the Secretary of State, which must be completed and returned. In the event that the form is not returned with the requested information or the vehicle was not insured on the date indicated on the form, the automobile's license plates will be suspended.
In order for a motorist to have suspended license plates reinstated, any applicable fine must be paid as well as a reinstatement fee. First time offenders can have a suspension lifted by paying a $100 reinstatement fee and providing proof of a valid Illinois auto insurance policy. Repeat offenders must serve a four month license plate suspension, after which they can pay the $100 reinstatement fee and provide proof of coverage to have the suspension lifted. No one may operate the vehicle while the license plates are suspended.