Maine Car Insurance Laws
The automobile coverage requirements for motorists in the Pine Tree State are among the highest in the nation, though according to a study conducted by the National Association of Insurance Commissioner (NAIC), in 2008, ME still manages to offer some of the cheapest automobile policies. With an average expenditure of only $600 for Maine auto insurance residents may want to consider the possibility of purchasing additional automobile protection designed to cover a broader range of damages. Before a motorist can expand upon a policy, however, they must first meet ME Financial Responsibility requirements. All residents are required to have a plan that includes:
- Bodily Injury Liability (BIL) of $50,000 for a single person involved in an accident; $100,000 for two people or more for a single accident; $25,000 for Property Damage Liability (PDL)
- Uninsured Motorist Coverage of $50,000 for a single person and $100,000 per accident
- Medical Payment Coverage with a limit of at least $2,000
If a Pine Tree State motorist is caught driving with a suspended license then the penalties can be even worse. A motorist may be subject to a 60-day additional suspension, a $25 license reinstatement fee, a fine up to $500, and even a jail sentence of up to six months. For each additional offense, residents would likely experience greater penalties and steeper consequences. In order to avoid such repercussions it’s often best to simply purchase an affordable car insurance policy that meets the state requirements.