Minnesota Car Insurance Laws
In order to legally drive, Minnesota's drivers must carry a specific minimum amount of coverage; resident motorists must have a policy in place that includes no-fault coverage that is designed to cover the insured against injuries sustained in an accident, regardless of who is at fault. Liability coverage is also required to ensure that motorists are financially responsible if at-fault for a collision.
The minimum amount of no-fault coverage, also referred to as Personal Injury Protection (PIP), that is required by the state is $40,000. This amount typically covers the insured individual, as well as any family members or passengers involved in an accident. This is then broken down into smaller portions, with $20,000 allotted for necessary medical expenses and $20,000 for non-medical related expenses.
As previously mentioned, residents who purchase Minnesota auto insurance must also include liability coverage as well, with limits of $30,000 for bodily injury for a single person, $60,000 for bodily injury per accident, and $10,000 for property damage. In the event of an accident in which a motorist is struck by another individual, then many of the injuries sustained will likely be covered by the insured’s PIP coverage, followed by the at-fault motorist’s bodily injury liability. There is also additional coverage required by the state in order to protect a motorist against drivers that are not adequately insured.
Policies in the North Star State must also include uninsured motorist protection with limits of at least $25,000 for a single person, as well as $50,000 for two people or more in a single accident. Residents are also required to carry underinsured motorist protection with the same value. This form of coverage insures a policyholder against the estimated 13% of drivers within the state that are without adequate vehicle protection. If struck by such a motorist, these benefits will likely take effect after the insured’s PIP limits have been exhausted.
If a motorist is caught without the proper amount of automobile protection then the driver may be issued a ticket and/or charged with a misdemeanor. This typically involves paying a fine, and the vehicle may be impounded at the owner’s expense. In addition, a motorist might also have their license revoked for a period between 30 and 365 days. Apart from this, driving without coverage may have additional consequences as well. If attempting to purchase a policy after such an offense, one’s rates are likely to be higher than a motorist with a clean record, and the individual may have difficulty locating an affordable auto insurance policy. Some insurers may even deny service entirely. Furthermore, an offending driver is likely to pay a series of fines and reinstatement fees in order to reinstate driving privileges or vehicle registration.