Are Proof of Auto Insurance Cards Required in Mississippi?

Mississippi flag shaped as the state
Mississippi law mandates that all motorists in the state maintain liability insurance with minimum limits of 25/50/25 and carry an insurance card as proof that this coverage has been purchased and maintained. These requirements were enacted by state legislators in 2000 and took effect on Jan. 1, 2001. Under these laws, all vehicle owners must keep documents that can verify coverage, and they must present these documents if instructed by an officer of the law.

If motorists are unable to provide proof of insurance when stopped by a police officer, they may have their driving privileges suspended for one year (or until the driver can provide adequate coverage verification) and face a fine of up to $1,000. Luckily, motorists can avoid many of these consequences by purchasing Mississippi automobile insurance from a licensed coverage provider. When motorists buy a policy, their insurer must provide a card or document that lists:
  • Names of the insured
  • Name of the insurer
  • Insurer’s contact number
  • Policy number
  • Effective coverage period
  • Vehicle identification number
  • Vehicle make, model, and year
Despite these requirements and the consequences for driving without adequate coverage, the Insurance Research Council estimates that roughly 28 percent of motorists in the Magnolia State were uninsured in 2009, giving Mississippi the highest percentage of uninsured drivers in the nation. Apart from maintaining adequate proof of vehicle coverage, motorists may also want to insure themselves against vehicle owners who choose to ignore these requirements.

Protecting Against Drivers Who Don’t Have Mississippi Car Insurance

If motorists purchase Mississippi car insurance coverage that includes only basic liability, they may not be able to collect damages if struck by an uninsured motorist. To be covered for such damages, residents should consider purchasing uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) protection. This policy addition will cover the cost of injuries that were caused by an uninsured or hit-and-run driver. UM/UIM policies will cover the damages of the policyholder and may cover the damages of any other passengers and household members.
Mississippi state flag sticker
Because auto coverage is required in Mississippi to legally drive, motorists are encouraged to shop around and purchase a policy that includes an adequate level of protection. Buying a plan that includes additional coverages can allow drivers to obtain the required proof of insurance and remain adequately prepared for an assortment of damages.