Missouri Car Insurance Requirements
The laws of the Show Me State requires that all motorists must maintain some type of liability coverage to compensate another party in the event of an at-fault traffic collision and proof of coverage must be on hand at all times while operating a motor vehicle. Proof of auto insurance is also required at the time an owner is registering a vehicle and when renewing license plates. If meeting state requirements by purchasing an automobile policy, coverage must consist of minimum liability limits as follows;
In addition to liability, the state's laws also requires motorists to maintain Uninsured Motorist coverage with limits of $25,000 for bodily injury per person and $50,000 per accident.
Although purchasing a policy from an licensed carrier is the most popular method of complying with state laws, consumers do have a few other options to do so. Vehicle owners can obtain a self-insurance identification card from the Department of Revenue; in order to be self-insured, the individual must own more than 25 automobiles and have the ability to prove that they can and will pay for injuries or damages caused by their vehicles.
Consumers can also comply with a surety bond, certificate of deposit of money, or another type of security filed with the Department of Revenue in the amount of $60,000; a real estate bond may also be filed with the department.
Failure to Comply with MO Auto Insurance Requirements
In addition to having to provide proof of liability coverage when registering a vehicle or renewing license plates, the Driver License Bureau is authorized to request an automobile owner to provide proof of insurance at any time during the registration period; failure to provide the proper documentation will result in the suspension of driving privileges.
A law enforcement officer can also ask for proof of liability and the driver must be able to furnish such documentation; not being able to provide this will result in a traffic ticket being issued to the driver and if convicted of failing to provide proof the driver can receive 4 points on their driving record (8 points in an 18 month period will cause a loss of driving privileges), an order of supervision can be entered by the court to monitor and ensure coverage is maintained or a driver's license will be suspended.
A suspension for not having a valid Missouri auto insurance policy will be subject to a reinstatement fee before a driver's license is reinstated. For a first offense there is no set days that a license is suspended, but loss of driving privileges will last until proof of coverage is provided and a $20 fee is paid. A 2nd suspension within two years will result in a 90 day suspension and the license will be reinstated with proof of a policy and payment of a $200 fee. For 3rd and subsequent suspensions, driving privileges will not be reinstated until after one year, documentation showing a policy is in effect is provided and a $400 reinstatement fee will have to be paid.
Operating an automobile without a car insurance policy in MO is against the law and although the state penalties can become expensive, it can be far worse if individual is involved in an uncovered accident. The costs arising from a traffic accident can amount to far more that the premium for coverage; it is Missourians' best interest to stay insured at all times.