When Does My Nevada Auto Insurance Policy Expire?
Many people believe that their auto insurance expires the day after the expiration date listed on their policy verification card. However, policies actually terminate at 12:01 a.m. on the listed date, according to the the Nevada Division of Insurance. This means that policyholders are only insured for one minute on their policy's date of expiration.
Unless adequate preparations are made, people who are switching providers or late on renewing their existing policy could be left uninsured. To avoid the consequences of driving without proper financial responsibility in place, residents should always renew or replace their plans before the listed date. They should also make sure that the expiration date of the current policy and the effective date of the new policy are the same.
When drivers buy a Nevada auto insurance policy—which they're required to do by law—their coverage verification card will list an effective date and an expiration date. Residents should take special note of their expiration date because when it comes to vehicle coverage there is no grace period. If someone were to renew their policy on the expiration date, they would be considered to have had a lapse in coverage.
Spending one day as an uninsured motorist may seem to hardly be a risk, but thanks to the Nevada LIVE system, offending drivers are quickly detected. This program synchronizes information between the Department of Motor Vehicles and insurers throughout the state. When an active policy is terminated or expires, the DMV is immediately notified.
Because there is no grace period in the Silver State, people who experience a lapse may be issued a verification request or could be cited when driving. Motorists who get requests by mail must respond to them within 15 days or face a variety of consequences for driving without meeting Nevada’s financial responsibility requirements.
A motorist who operates a motor vehicle while uninsured could be forced to pay a minimum penalty of $250. There is also the possibility of being fined as much as $1,750, and the motorist in question could lose their driver’s license.
But what may even be more devastating than these fines is causing an accident while uninsured. If that were to happen, the driver would likely be responsible for compensating all involved parties for their damages.
Because of these consequences, it’s important for residents to avoid experiencing a lapse in coverage.