New Hampshire Car Insurance Laws
|The Granite State is one of the only states that allow residents to operate an automobile without an auto insurance policy; however, a motorist must be able to demonstrate the ability to provide sufficient funds that meet the New Hampshire Motor Vehicle Financial Responsibility Requirements in the event that the driver is involved in an "at-fault" traffic accident. With the high costs that can arise following traffic accidents, it is suggested that motorists shop around and compare rates from insurers to cover these expenses rather than drive uninsured and be held liable for compensating other parties for bodily injury and/or property damage.|
NH Car Insurance RequirementsAlthough the state does not require motorist to purchase automobile coverage, drivers that do choose to obtain an auto insurance policy must acquire certain levels of protection. All policies written in the state must consist of liability coverage with limits of no less than $25,000 for bodily injury per person, $50,000 for bodily injury to two or more people and $25,000 for property damage.
In addition, per New Hampshire Statutes, NH RSA 264:15 and NH RSA 264:16, individuals that purchase NH car insurance policies must also obtain Uninsured Motorists Coverage to compensate for injuries resulting from an accident involving a driver without an automobile policy or a hit-and-run driver; limits must be no less than $25,000 per person and $50,000 for multiple persons and must equal liability limits. The statutes also mandate that policies contain Medical Payments of at least $1,000 to pay for accident-related medical expenses of the insured regardless of fault.
Reasons to Buy New Hampshire Auto InsuranceMotorists may be hesitant to purchase an automobile policy and incur costs that are not required by law, but choosing not to do so can have much more dire consequences. Drivers involved in traffic accidents where they are found to be at fault can be held liable for paying any bodily injury and/or property damage that is sustained in the accident. Additionally, a lawsuit can be filed by the other party and a court order can result in the at-fault driver's assets to be used to pay for any compensation that may be awarded. Having auto insurance coverage in place can cover these expenses up to the policy limits purchased.
Vehicle policies can also be beneficial in the event an insured is involved in a collision with an individual that decided not to purchase coverage. With Uninsured Motorist coverage, if the policyholder is injured in an accident with an uncovered or hit-and-run driver, the insurer will pay for medical costs for those considered "insured", up to the policy's limits.
Although NH does not require motorists to maintain an automobile policy, motorists must be financially responsible for injuries and/or property damage that they are found at-fault for causing with an automobile. Failure to provide the sufficient funds to compensate the other party can result in the suspension of driving privileges. In order to operate a vehicle in the future, a driver must purchase the minimum coverage requirements and file an SR-22 to do so. It may be more costly in the long run to choose to operate motor-vehicles uninsured rather than pay for protection.