Oregon Car Insurance - Compare Quotes to find Cheaper Rates

state of OregonAccording to the Consumer Guide to Oregon Automobile Insurance, premiums vary widely among companies doing business in OR; therefore, it is very important to compare multiple quotes in order to find a cheap rate.

Compare Oregon auto insurance quotes:

Zip Code:
currently insured?yesno

With the use of the Internet, comparing rates can be done quickly and efficiently. When looking to obtain cheap OR car insurance there are a few factors that carriers take into consideration when considering an applicant; they are as follows:

  • driving record
  • vehicle year, make and model
  • prior coverage
  • credit history

There are a number of states that do not allow providers to raise premiums based on a consumer's credit report and Oregon is one of them. Though they can decline an applicant because of credit reporting, carriers must get consent before running a check and prove that the declining of a policy is a result that the report can predict the chance of future claims.


Buy Oregon Car Insurance Online

There are many ways to acquire automobile policies, but as of recent years the internet has become an easy and convenient method to satisfy coverage needs. More and more consumers are choosing to buy auto insurance online due to the ease and effectiveness.

By completing a simple form, the consumer will be given competitive rates from a variety of providers that are approved to issue policies in Oregon. After comparing the prices for premiums and choosing one that is preferred, the potentially insured can complete the process and purchase the coverage right then and there. Proof may be received in a few simple steps through an electronic payment and signature.


Oregon Auto Insurance Law

The state's insurance requirements make it mandatory for all drivers to carry, as a minimum, the following auto insurance coverage:

  • Bodily Injury (BI) - $25,000 per person; $50,000 per accident for bodily injuries to others
  • Property Damage (PD) - $20,000 per crash for damage to the property of others
  • Personal Injury Protection (PIP) - $15,000 per person
  • Uninsured Motorist Coverage - $25,000 per person; $50,000 per accident for bodily injury

OR state logoProof of financial responsibility must be shown any time one needs to register a vehicle. According to Oregon auto insurance laws motorists caught driving without a policy in place it could result in fines, suspension of driving privileges and the automobile can be towed. The owner will be responsible for towing and storage charges in addition to any fines. If convicted, an SR-22 will need to be filed with the DMV for three years or the driver's license will be suspended. If uninsured and involved in a traffic accident, the driving privileges will be suspended automatically for one year.

 

Questions Regarding Oregon Coverage

  • Will My Oregon Insurance Company Let Me Lend My Auto for Profit?

    Oregon state flagIn most cases, people get their cars insured specifically for personal use-driving to the grocery store, taking road trips, getting to school, etc. For the minority of people who insure cars for commercial purposes-delivering goods, providing a means of transportation for compensation, etc.-insurers tend to...

  • How Can I Lower My Oregon Car Insurance Premium?

    Oregon state flagIn tough economic times people typically look for ways to cut costs wherever possible and, for the many Oregon residents who drive, auto insurance is a necessary expense they might be looking to trim. Fortunately, there are a few ways to lower premium prices that could end up saving a vehicle owner some...

Oregon Car Insurance News

  • New Ore. Law Grants 'Driver Cards' to Undocumented Immigrants

    May 03, 2013 - A signature from Oregon's governor this week finalized a law there that will allow undocumented immigrants to be issued a four-year "driver card" that grants them driving privileges and requires them to purchase insurance. Those who cannot prove legal status in the U.S. and seeking a driver card will have to undergo the ...

  • Oregon House Reps Want Insurance Cos. Subject to Fraud Act

    April 5, 2013 - A measure making Oregon insurers subject to an act that protects consumers from fraud passed the state House in Oregon this week to the chagrin of companies that say it will make the state overregulated and litigious. HB 3160 would repeal the insurance industry's exemption from the Unlawful Trade Practices Act (UTPA), meaning ...

  • PEMCO Poll: Many Portlanders Want Tougher Cell-Phone Penalties

    November 17, 2011 - More than 40 percent of motorists in Oregon's largest city think fines for texting while driving should be higher and nearly one-third believe the penalties should almost double, according to a new survey that also shows high percentages of drivers commit the offense. According to the results of the poll, released this week...

Articles on Oregon Insurance Issues

  • Review Oregon Auto Insurance Policies

    Dec 27, 2011 - It is illegal to operate a motor vehicle in Oregon without first having purchased automobile insurance. Motorists who are convicted of driving while uninsured often face a number of consequences, including fines or...

  • Automobile Accidents and Oregon Insurance

    Nov 10, 2011 - In Oregon there are an estimated 4,086,000 vehicles registered with the state Department of Motor Vehicles and roughly 2,842,000 licensed drivers, but there were also over...

  • No Oregon Auto Insurance May Mean License Suspension

    Aug 11, 2011 - Owning a car in the Beaver State also means having a certain amount of responsibility. Automobile accidents are unfortunately common and oftentimes lead to damages that need to be repaired. If an Oregon vehicle owner is responsible for...