South Carolina Auto Insurance Online


"The most important thing for a consumer to do is to shop around for auto insurance."
(Source: South Carolina Department of Insurance)

South Carolina sealOnlineAutoInsurance.com understands the importance of comparing South Carolina auto insurance coverage rates from multiple companies. That's why we help you quickly and easily compare multiple quotes with one simple process. Don't waste your time calling companies individually. Complete the following questionnaire and get instant SC online quotations from various reputable insurers.

Compare South Carolina Auto Insurance Quotes

ZIP Code: 
currently insured:yesno


state of South Carolina What will I be asked when getting SC Auto Insurance Quotes? You will need to have available the following information:
  • Vehicle data including year, make, model and type of use
  • Driver data (License numbers are not required but recommended for a more accurate quote.)
  • Coverage desired, including deductibles if requesting comprehensive and collision coverage
  • Prior policy information

The SC car insurance laws in force require drivers to insure their vehicles with at least liability and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. Although little coverage is required by law, drivers should quote additional coverage in order to determine if the rates for more extensive protection are affordable. Shoppers will be surprised to find out that some add-ons are quite inexpensive.

South Carolina Auto Insurance Law - Minimum Required Coverage
Liability CoverageBodily Injury Per Person:$25,000Pays other parties' injuries, up to the policy limits, that the policyholder is found liable for.
Per Accident:$50,000
Property DamagePer Accident$25,000Pays for property damage the policyholder is found liable for, up to the policy limits.
Uninsured Motorist CoverageBodily InjuryPer Person:$25,000For those considered insured, it pays for medical expenses resulting from a traffic accident caused by another driver who lacks a policy.
Per Accident:$50,000

The state will allow drivers to legally drive their vehicles uninsured by paying a $550 fee to the Department of Public Safety; however, this is not recommended because it leaves drivers liable for any medical bills and property damage that they cause an automobile accident. It may be wise to compare South Carolina auto insurance to see if affordable policies can be found.

How to Get Cheap Car Insurance in SC
  • Compare rates from multiple companies
  • Obey traffic laws to avoid getting violations on your driving record. If you already have some, avoid getting new ones and your record will clear over time
  • Be sure to provide information that will bring discounts, such as being a good student, completing driver courses, having a college degree, having car alarms and low-jack, having low vehicle usage, and being a non-smoker
  • Consider higher comprehensive and collision deductibles
  • Check the rates for coverage of a vehicle prior to purchasing it in order to make sure insuring it is within budget
  • If there are multiple vehicles, insure them on the same policy in order to get a multi-vehicle discount
  • If married, providing proof of marriage will often lower your rates
  • Pay premiums up front in order to get a paid-in-full discount.
Consumers are encouraged to research any possible savings that may be offered by insurers in order to locate the cheapest South Carolina auto insurance rates available.
The department of insurance provides South Carolina auto insurance facts designed to help residents become more informed and educated about automobile coverage. Motorists may also visit our learning center in order to learn more details on policies and to get additional tips.

Questions about South Carolina Coverage

  • Can Getting A New Car Affect My SC Insurance Policy?

    South Carolina state flagBecause the type of car that someone drives can play a big part in how much they pay for vehicle coverage, getting a new automobile can often affect a South Carolina resident's policy. Before switching vehicles, residents are encouraged speak with their coverage providers to...

  • Is Car Insurance Required in South Carolina?

    South Carolina flag designIn order to legally drive in the Palmetto State, motorists do not necessarily need to buy automobile policies. However, if a resident chooses not to purchase a policy they must pay an annual uninsured driver fee of $550 to the South Carolina Department of Public Safety. The money that is obtained from these fees is...

SC Car Insurance News

  • South Carolina Crackdown: Police Stings Target Ridesharing

    July 24, 2014 - Police are warning the public about the insurance-related risks of ridesharing service Uber, according to South Carolina news reports. Charleston police will hold "sting operations" to warn Uber drivers and possibly fine them after the service launched in Charleston weeks ago, according to The Post and Courier, which ...

  • South Carolina Bill Seeks to Clarify UM Coverage Minimums

    March 6, 2013 - A piece of South Carolina auto insurance legislation that would clarify the minimum level of uninsured motorist (UM) coverage drivers are required to purchase is advancing through the state Legislature. S 464, proposed by Sen. Robert Hayes (R-York), would officially set the minimum at $25,000. In 2006, legislators hiked liability ...

  • Allstate Notifies Thousands about Nonrenewals in South Carolina

    July 12, 2012 - Thousands of homeowners policyholders with Allstate in South Carolina could have their policies dropped by the insurer, which is sending notices to customers who have homes over 10 years old, have policies worth less than $220,000 and do not have ...

Articles on finding SC Auto Insurance

  • South Carolina Auto Insurance for High Risk Drivers

    Jun 21, 2011 - When searching for automobile insurance in the Palmetto State residents may quickly realize that policies come at a wide variety of prices for many different reasons. Coverage providers typically determine rates by looking at a variety...

  • Info Regarding South Carolina Insurance

    Mar 21, 2011 - The South Carolina laws permit certain motorists to forgo a car insurance policy and register an uninsured motor vehicle. At the time of registration the automobile owner must pay a fee of $550 in order to register an uninsured motor...

  • Getting SC Insurance or Driving Uninsured

    Feb 07, 2011 - The Palmetto State is one of few that offer drivers the chance to opt out of driving with automobile coverage by paying an uninsured motorist fee of $550 when they register their vehicle. Because this is allowed, there are some people...