Utah Auto Insurance


In accordance with state law, all passenger cars and trucks must maintain No-Fault automobile coverage as long as a vehicle is registered. Since each company will charge a different premium for every applicant, one should take the time to obtain quotes in order to find the cheapest policy.Utah state capital

Compare Utah auto insurance quotes:

Zip Code:
currently insured?yesno

Find Cheap Utah Car Insurance

There are a few important steps to finding cheaper coverage in UT. One of the most important yet overlooked steps is taking the time to comparison shop. Companies evaluate each applicant and put them in a risk pool along with similar drivers; they then base their premiums on the risks associated with insuring the motorist who is applying. The importance of comparing the rates of different insurers is because some will charge consumers less for certain risk factors while some may charge a substantially higher amount. By gathering quotations and completing a comparison, the consumer will be able to view which companies are willing to offer a fair rate and which may be overcharging.

When shopping around for more affordable policies it is important to take a few things into consideration. While applying be sure to provide the same information to each company as well as requesting the same coverage. This is important because rates are determined by the information that is provided by the applicant such as; age, gender, address and any tickets or accidents on a driving history. Also, one wants to compare "apples to apples", therefore completing a UT car insurance comparison based on the same amount of coverage with each company is vital for completing an effective comparison. If a person were to get a cheaper rate from a carrier but the amount of protection is less than another insurer that they may have compared, it may not necessarily mean that they are getting the best deal. They may have gotten a lower price with the other carrier had they compared the same coverage.

According to the Utah Insurance Department shopping around and asking for discounts is an ideal way to save. There are many discounts that are offered to drivers who are seen as less of a risk. Being eligible for a discount can help motorists save a significant amount on their premium.

Utah Auto Insurance Lawsstate of Utah

The state follows the No-Fault law which means that all motorists are required by UT car insurance laws to carry Personal Injury Protection (PIP); this type of coverage pays for injuries sustained by the policyholder as a result of a traffic collision up the the limit stated on the policy regardless of who is found liable. In addition to PIP, drivers must also carry liability limits as follows;
  • $25,000 for bodily injury per person
  • $65,000 for bodily injury per accident
  • $15,000 for property damage
  • $3,000 for personal injury protection
Motorists are required to carry proof of coverage at all times while operating an automobile and must be able to furnish such proof if request by a law enforcement officer; as of 5/1/2008 officers are allowed to impound uninsured vehicles. Evidence of a valid policy is required in order to maintain a vehicle's registration. If caught operating a vehicle without proof of coverage it is a Class B misdemeanor and if convicted, the offender will receive a fine of no less than $400 for a first offense and $1,000 for a subsequent offense within three years of any previous convictions. Also, the Department of Public Safety will suspend driving privileges which cannot be reinstated until proof of a policy is submitted and a reinstatement fee is paid.


Questions Related to Utah Insurance

  • How Can I Benefit from Utah Auto Insurance Complaint Ratios?

    Utah state flagMost states provide important data to assist residents in locating reputable insurers, and one piece of data that is commonly overlooked is the complaint ratio. Generally, when a dispute between a policyholder and a carrier cannot be resolved, a complaint is filed with...

  • Can I Buy Utah Auto Insurance Without a Driver's License?

    Utah state flagDrivers across the country may need to purchase insurance while unlicensed for a number of reasons: the policyholder may want to maintain coverage while his or her driving privilege is suspended, the individual may have only a learner's permit, a vehicle owner may want to insure against theft or damages while the car...

  • How Can I Safely Shop Online for Utah Auto Insurance?

    Laptop wrapped in a chain and lockedShopping for auto insurance online can be a quick and efficient way to find coverage, and it usually comes with the advantage of being able to purchase a policy from the comfort of home. When buying anything over the Internet, including automobile coverage, it's important to...

Utah Car Insurance News

  • Regulators Advise Policyholders to File Wind Storm Claims Promptly

    December 5, 2011 - Regulators and insurance industry experts in California and other western states battered by recent high winds are urging residents to avoid weather-related risks and to file claims for damage to their vehicles and homes as soon as possible. High winds swept across states from California to Colorado and Utah last week, with...

  • State Licensing Debates Have Car Insurance Implications

    March 17, 2011 - State laws allowing non-citizens access to driving privileges and auto insurance coverage in Utah and New Mexico have come under heavy fire in the first months of the new legislative session, but it looks like they will be preserved after bills that would have ...

  • Utah Legislature Approves Ban on Accident-Response Fees

    March 16, 2011 - Local governments across the country are increasingly instituting flat-fee structures used to bill drivers for police and fire departments' response to traffic accidents. But legislation on its way to the governor's desk in Utah would impose a ban on the practice throughout that state. Accident-response fees ...

Articles on Utah Coverage Issues

  • Buying Utah Car Insurance Policies

    Dec 09, 2011 - When looking to buy Utah auto insurance, there should be many items taken into consideration by consumers. And although shopping for automobile coverage is not something most motorists look forward to, taking the...

  • Rate Utah Auto Insurance Providers

    Sep 30, 2011 - When a Utah motorist registers an automobile, they must be able to prove that the vehicle is insured with a no-fault policy. In the Beehive state it is illegal to drive without auto coverage, and doing so may...