What Car Insurance Coverage is Required in Wisconsin?
|Residents of the Badger State who choose to purchase a policy in order to satisfy Wisconsin's Financial Responsibility law are required to acquire quite a bit of coverage. An auto insurance policy must consist of Bodily Injury Liability, Property Damage Liability and Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist protection. |
As of November 1, 2011, coverage requirements were reduced and policies must contain limits of liability of $25,000 for injury or death of one person, $50,000 for injury or death per accident and $10,000 for property damage. Car insurance policies must also include uninsured motorist and contain minimum limits of $25,000/$50,000 for bodily injury.
Wisconsinites should not cringe due to the fact that such extensive coverage is needed and should be aware that the state's average premiums are among some of the lowest in the country. By comparison shopping and obtaining auto insurance quotes from multiple companies, a resident will give themselves a good chance of finding an affordable policy from a reputable carrier.
Complying with WI Auto Insurance LawsThe state has become one of the latest to pass new legislation regarding automobile coverage and as of June 1, 2010, all motorists must be covered by a vehicle policy at all times while operating automobiles. Although, there are limited situations where these laws can be satisfied with a surety bond, personal funds, or a certificate of self-insurance filed with the Wisconsin Department of Transportation.
In addition to the mandatory automobile coverage requirements, residents are now required to carry valid proof of auto insurance in their vehicles as well. This documentation will need to be furnished if requested by a law enforcement officer during a routine traffic stop or following a traffic accident. The fine for failure to provide the necessary proof may result in a fine of up to $10.
Motorists caught operating a vehicle without a valid car insurance policy can be hit with fines much greater than $10. Individuals who are convicted of driving without proper coverage can receive a fine of up to $500, which is very close to the average premium Wisconsin's residents pay for policies and it may have been worth it to have just purchased coverage in the first place.
Matters can become much worse if a driver decides to operate a vehicle uninsured and makes the unwise decision of providing proof of Wisconsin auto insurance that is fraudulent. The fine for a conviction of committing such an act can reach up to $5,000, which would probably very easily cover the cost of being insured.