Do You Need Louisiana Car Registration for Car Insurance?
Get a fast and free car insurance rate comparison
Whether you’re moving to Louisiana or purchasing your first car, you might feel overwhelmed navigating the ins and outs of Louisiana car registration and insurance requirements.
For instance you may wonder, do I need car insurance to renew registration in Louisiana?
In a nutshell, yes! You do need insurance to renew registration. In fact, you can’t register your car without insurance. The most efficient strategy is to sign up for insurance before you register your vehicle, as you will need to present proof of insurance as part of the required registration documents.
To help simplify your life, let’s break it down into easy steps.
What Kind of Insurance Do You Need?
Before you buckle up, you have to be insured. According to Louisiana law, all drivers must have liability coverage for their vehicle. Liability insurance covers costs related to bodily injury or property damage due to an accident. This extends to you or anyone operating your vehicle with your permission. Liability insurance also covers injuries or damage you may sustain while operating someone else’s vehicle.
As outlined by the Louisiana state OMV, you are required to have 15/30/25 liability limits. What is a 15/30/25 liability limit you may ask? Essentially, the numbers refer to the maximum amount your insurance will cover for certain types of damage.
15/30/25 coverage includes:
$15,000 for bodily injury per person
$30,000 for bodily injury per accident (involving multiple people)
$25,000 for property damage
Louisiana state minimum car insurance is required by law. In fact, it’s not uncommon for states to require insurance. Virginia and New Hampshire are the only two states that don’t require auto insurance.
What Are My Options for Additional Coverage?
Though you may be perfectly happy with the minimum requirement, some car owners prefer to have a more thorough plan. If you choose to upgrade your insurance, you can opt for varying levels of coverage to meet your needs. This includes options like coverage for uninsured motorists and comprehensive coverage.
Comprehensive Coverage – Insures your vehicle against non-accident related factors like weather damage.
UIM Coverage – Uninsured motorist coverage insures you if you are in an accident with an uninsured driver. If they don’t have the means to cover damages, your insurance has your back.
Towing and Labor Coverage – Sometimes, disaster doesn’t strike but you’re in the wrong place at the wrong time. Towing coverage covers towing costs and select repairs.
There are many varieties of additional insurance available to purchase for your vehicle. For more information on various upgrades, visit the Louisiana DOI’s website.
How Much Does Insurance Typically Cost in Louisiana?
Louisiana car insurance rates are some of the highest in the nation. According to Wallethub, “Louisiana ranks 48 out of 50 for the most affordable car insurance rates in the U.S.” These pricey policies are partially due to Louisiana’s minimum requirements for insurance. Since each driver must have 15/30/25 liability coverage, monthly payments are typically higher than in other states.
The average cost of car insurance in Louisiana is $1,800 per year, with high-risk drivers paying up to $2,106 per year. Of course, premiums depend on a large variety of factors including driving record, demographic, and vehicle type.
What Influences My Premium?
If you’re looking for the cheapest car insurance in Louisiana, it’s important to understand how insurance premiums are affected by external factors.
Influences on premiums for a Louisiana resident include:
Age – In particular, teenage drivers pay a higher rate for their insurance.
Location – Drivers in urban areas typically have higher rates than those in rural areas.
Vehicle – Certain car models with high accident rates garner higher payments.
Driving Record – Safe driving is key! DUIs and tickets increase insurance payments.
Of course, some of these factors are out of your control. It’s still important to understand why insurance companies issue varying rates.
FAQ: Is there a way to lower my insurance premium?
Yes. Premiums can decrease based on several factors including: having good grades, taking defensive driving courses, and installing additional safety features. Lastly, it helps to drive safely, as insurance companies want to reward you for conscientious driving.
How Do You Register Your Car in Louisiana?
You’ve purchased your insurance policy and now it’s time to register your car. Don’t be frightened by the paperwork or lines at the DMV, Louisiana car registration is straightforward once you organize all the required documents.
You have 40 days after the purchase of your vehicle to complete your car registration in Louisiana before you are penalized. If you’re moving from out of state, you have 30 days.
What Documents Should You Bring?
Depending on your circumstances or where you acquired your vehicle, you may need to present different documents for registration. For a comprehensive list of paperwork required for vehicle registration, visit the Louisiana DMV’s website.
In general, expect to bring:
Your current Louisiana driver’s license.
Previous registration documents.
Payment for registration fees.
Proof of insurance (remember, you MUST have Louisiana car insurance to register your vehicle).
The Louisiana OMV office accepts registration documents by mail and in person. Additionally, you may need to pass an emissions inspection test in order to register your car. This ensures that your vehicle is safe and doesn’t emit too much smog. If you’re simply renewing your registration, you can complete registration renewal online.
FAQ: In Louisiana does your car insurance and registration have to be under the same name?
Although the Louisiana OMV office does not explicitly state that the insurance and registration must be under the same name, it’s wise to keep the name consistent, particularly since proof of insurance is needed for registration. That being said, it is possible to find insurers for a vehicle that’s not registered in your name.
If you need help finding resources for your insurance selection, you can find fast and free insurance quotes here.
What Constitutes Proof of Insurance?
In order to prove your vehicle is insured, you need to present the correct documents at the Louisiana OMV. This doesn’t mean just waltzing in with a receipt or confirmation email. Avoid any repeat visits and understand the options for acceptable documents before you wait in line.
The three most common ways for a Louisiana resident to present proof of insurance are:
An official insurance card
A copy of your policy
Your policy declaration page
According to the OMV’s website, you may also present a signed statement from your insurer (issued on company letterhead), which includes a vehicle description and vehicle identification number.
FAQ: Do I need proof of insurance if I purchased my car from a dealer?
No. Dealers take care of insurance paperwork for registration on their end. This is the ONLY instance in which you do not need to bring proof of insurance to the OMV for registration.
Once you’re on the road, you need to carry proof of insurance with you in the car at all times. If you’re stopped by a police officer you’re required to present proof of insurance. Because the law requires all vehicles to be insured, the penalty for driving without insurance \~\~in Louisiana \~\~might include losing your Louisiana driver’s license or impounding your vehicle. Keep a copy of your insurance card in your glove compartment so you always have it with you.
Is There an Easy Way to Find the Perfect Plan?
Do you understand all the requirements but still feel stumped? Looking for cheap insurance options? Want to know more specifics, like the pros and cons of Geico vs Progressive? If you’re searching for insurance plans but aren’t sure where to start, services like OnlineAutoInsurance can help.
With their easy-to-use search function you can compare insurance rates from multiple providers with the click of a button.
Insurance Requirements at a Glance – OAI allows you to search for insurance by state, so you know you’re getting the right coverage no matter where you live. Filter options allow you to refine results by zip code so your rates are pinpointed to your exact location.
Customer Support – If you need more guidance on insurance plan options, speak with a team member to help determine the right level of coverage for your lifestyle.
Compare Prices – Once you’ve decided what type of coverage is right for you, OAI allows you to compare price points between major providers. It’s easy to find the right coverage and the perfect price.
A little research goes a long way. Using OAI, conduct thorough research so you understand your options before committing to a specific policy. With OAI’s help, when the time rolls around to register your vehicle, you’ll already be an expert.
Louisiana Department of Insurance. Consumer’s Guide to Auto Insurance. https://www.ldi.la.gov/docs/default-source/documents/publicaffairs/consumerpublications/auto-insurance-guide.pdf.
LAWS. Louisiana Vehicle Registration. https://cars.laws.com/louisiana-vehicle-registration
WalletHub. How much is car insurance in Louisiana per month? https://wallethub.com/answers/ci/average-car-insurance-cost-louisiana-2140703275/
DMV.ORG. Car Insurance in Louisiana. https://www.dmv.org/la-louisiana/car-insurance.php
DMV.ORG. Car Registration in Louisiana. https://www.dmv.org/la-louisiana/car-registration.php#Additional-Registration-Requirements
Motor1. States Where Car Insurance is Not Mandatory. https://www.motor1.com/reviews/403859/states-where-car-insurance-is-not-mandatory
ValuePenguin. Can You Insure a Car That’s Not in Your Name? https://www.valuepenguin.com/car-insurance-car-not-registered-to-you#registered