High Risk Drivers in North Carolina
Get a fast and free car insurance rate comparison
Automobile coverage providers in the Tar Heel State often prefer to insure motorists that are considered good drivers, with a small likelihood of filing a claim. But unfortunately, not everyone has a flawless driving record or years of experience behind the wheel. Although there are various reasons why an individual would be labeled as a high risk motorist, being in this category typically translates into steeper premium prices or potential difficulty in locating that is adequately priced. Luckily, there are a variety of options for drivers with less-than-perfect records that are in need of affordable coverage. One of the most helpful methods, however, is gathering enough information to avoid becoming a riskier motorist.
Although being involved in multiple accidents or filing several claims is a common way to increase one’s likelihood of being considered a driver with a greater risk-factor, sometimes being placed in this category is unavoidable. For example, because of various statistics surrounding teenage motorists and the fact that they are four times more likely to be involved in an accident than older drivers (according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention), these motorists are likely to be considered of a higher risk in NC before even filing a claim. To combat these statistics, young and inexperienced motorists are encouraged to strive to become exceptional drivers. Oftentimes after a period of three years without an accident of traffic citation, one’s coverage provider is likely to reconsider a resident’s risk-factor, which may lead to lower rates.
Consequences and Options for NC High Risk Drivers
A quick way for a resident to find themselves on the same category as other motorists with greater risk-factors is to be convicted of driving while under the influence. In an effort to decrease alcohol related crashes, North Carolina created the Booze It & Lose It program that is dedicated to catching and punishing drunk drivers. Under this program, motorists that refuse to take a breath or blood test when stopped by a law enforcement officer may have their license suspended for a year. If convicted of a DWI a resident could have their license revoked for at least a year, face numerous fines, or even possible imprisonment. More importantly, however, these actions are likely to appear on a resident’s driving record for roughly three years, making it difficult to locate affordable automobile coverage.
Despite being in such a category, in North Carolina there are various coverage options that are available even for high risk drivers. Because basic liability with minimum limits is required in the Tar Heel State in order to legally drive, insurers are not permitted to deny an individual such coverage. However, they may place a motorist in a reinsurance facility, which requires higher liability limits to counter a person’s risk-factor. These limits typically include bodily injury liability with $100,000 per person and $300,000 per accident; property damage liability with $50,000 per accident; medical payment coverage ranging from $1,000 to $2,000 per person; and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage for $1,000,000. Instead of relying on these alternative coverage methods, however, residents are encouraged to strive to remain or become exceptional drivers that are aware, conscientious, and obey the traffic laws.