What is the Louisiana Minimum Car Insurance Amount?
Get a fast and free car insurance rate comparison
If you own a car in Louisiana, it’s mandatory that you take out auto insurance.
Beyond what’s legally required, you want to make sure you’re prepared for a car accident.
After all, if you have a fender bender with another Louisiana driver and you’re found at-fault, you could end up responsible for the hefty price of damages to their vehicle. And no matter how carefully you drive, you can’t control other motorists. Because 13% of Louisiana drivers are uninsured, they may not be able to help pay for damages to your car or for any injuries you incur.
If you’re looking to save a buck on car insurance, there’s some good news: Louisiana only requires that you take out a certain minimum coverage.
In this short guide, we’ll go over Louisiana minimum car insurance requirements, as well as the other coverage you may want or need.
Louisiana State Minimum Car Insurance
In the Bayou State, minimum coverage can help you cover the cost of damage to someone else’s car, property, and person in a car accident where you’re at fault.
The specific requirements for minimum coverage are as follows:
$15,000 bodily injury liability (per person) – If you’re found at-fault in an accident, you could be liable for injuries to the driver as well as any passengers. Minimum coverage in Louisiana could potentially cover up to $15,000 in injuries to each person who is injured.
$30,000 bodily injury liability (per accident) – With minimum coverage, your insurance policy won’t cover bodily injury beyond $30,000 per accident. That means that if your accident injures three people, you won’t have $45,000 in coverage (as the per-person total might suggest). Instead, you’ll have $30,000 to be spread out between the three parties.
$25,000 property damage liability (per accident) – An auto accident could also cause damage to the other driver’s vehicle. However, beyond damage to cars, you could also potentially hit a home, place of business, or mailbox. In Louisiana, minimum coverage can help cover up to $25,000 in damaged property.
Why do you need this insurance coverage?
Without Louisiana car insurance minimum coverage, another driver could sue you for their medical expenses and totaled car—and you’d be responsible for damages, not to mention expensive attorney’s fees.
You could also have your car impounded or have your license plate suspended. You could even be charged with failure to take out insurance, a misdemeanor offense.
Finally, if you can’t hand over an insurance ID card along with your Louisiana car registration, you may not be able to benefit from another driver’s policy when they’re at-fault. Louisiana has a “No Pay, No Play” law to encourage drivers to take out insurance. If you don’t pay for insurance, you can’t “play”—i.e., receive benefits from the other driver’s policy.
With minimum coverage, you’ll have an insurance policy that helps cover your liability for any damages you inflict.
However, keep in mind that it won’t pay for your own damaged vehicle.
Additional Insurance Coverage
Beyond the bare minimum, many drivers find that it’s a good idea to take out auto insurance that helps cover their potential bodily injury and vehicular damage.
To make sure you’re protected, you can also consider:
Collision Coverage – This coverage can help pay for physical damage to your car as a result of an auto accident—whether it’s with another vehicle, or a fallen tree. It could cover your car when you’re found at-fault, or supplement another driver’s insurance when they’re responsible for the accident.
Personal Injury Protection – You might get injured in a car accident, too. Personal injury coverage helps ensure you’ll be able to cover your medical expenses if you’re at-fault or if your costs exceed the benefits of the other driver’s coverage.
Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverage – As noted, many Louisiana drivers hit the road without any coverage. Another 43% have only minimum coverage, which may not cover all of your costs. This kind of coverage can help supplement their policy.
Comprehensive Coverage – Comprehensive coverage helps ensure you can cover your own costs even if you’re at-fault.
Roadside Assistance – After an accident, you may need to be towed to your mechanic. Add roadside assistance to your policy so that you’re prepared when something goes wrong.
You can customize your coverage limits to make sure you’re adequately covered with an affordable policy.
Understanding Auto Insurance
Are you wondering where to find the best car insurance rates in Louisiana? You can spend hours comparing Geico vs Progressive vs State Farm—or you can use OnlineAutoInsurance as the one-stop shop for finding the cheapest car insurance in Louisiana.
Search our database or talk to a representative to see Louisiana car insurance rates from dozens of vendors. Then, choose the insurer that best suits your needs and customize your policy limits.
With OAI, it’s easier than ever to hit the road with the full confidence that you’re protected by insurance.
WalletHub. 2020’s Best Car Insurance in Louisiana. https://wallethub.com/cheap-car-insurance/louisiana