How are Connecticut Auto Insurance Claims Paid Based on Fault?
When a Connecticut vehicle owner gets involved in an accident, the motorist who is considered more at-fault is typically responsible for paying for the resulting damages in proportion to his or her share of fault. If motorists are considered entirely responsible for an accident, their liability coverage will likely pay for all of the other parties' expenses, up to the policy limits. If a resident is struck by an uninsured motorist, an underinsured motorist, or a hit-and-run driver, the policyholder's own uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage is likely to take effect.
The comparative fault system used in the Constitution State requires motorists to cover the portion of damages they cause if they are more at fault than the other parties. For example, if a resident with Connecticut car insurance is struck by another motorist resulting in $10,000 worth of damage and is found to be only 20 percent at-fault, the other driver's liability coverage will likely pay for most of the damage. But since the policyholder is considered 20 percent at-fault for the collision, he or she may only receive 80 percent of the total damages because of his or her part in the accident. The other driver would receive no compensation through any liability policy since he or she is more than 51 percent at fault.
To be better prepared for similar accidents, vehicle owners in the Constitution State may want to consider purchasing a policy that exceeds the state's minimum level of coverage. Vehicle owners must purchase car coverage that includes bodily injury and property damage liability with minimum limits of 20/40/10, plus additional uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This protection is required to help motorists be adequately prepared in the event of an accident where they are responsible for injuries or property damages.
Increasing the minimum limits required by the state can often allow vehicle owners to avoid costly out-of-pocket expenses after particularly serious accidents. The minimum threshold of $10,000 for property damages, for example, can be easily exceeded after an accident involving multiple cars or a newer automobile. The Federal Trade Commission estimates that a new car in 2009 cost roughly $28,400, potentially leaving an at-fault motorist with costly repair bills if significant damage is caused to a vehicle of that value.
Although the Insurance Research Council estimates that only 10 percent of motorists in the Constitution State were uninsured in 2009, drivers are still encouraged to consider raising their uninsured/underinsured motorist protection in case they are involved in a hit-and-run accident or struck by an individual with only a minimal amount of coverage that cannot cover all of the resulting damages. Motorists are permitted to purchase a policy that includes uninsured motorist auto insurance with a threshold that is up to double the amount of bodily injury liability. Increasing this threshold can offer a wider range of coverage and also acts as another reason to raise liability limits as well.
An effective way to locate vehicle coverage that includes additional levels of protection at a reasonable price is to make CT car insurance comparisons over the Internet. Completing an online search can often yield dozens of estimates in a matter of minutes with no obligation to make a purchase, and they require only small amounts of personal information. These resources can then be used to find an insurer able to provide an adequately priced plan with higher liability limits, and can be used as a helpful tool for finding affordable rates for future searches.