Do I Need to Carry Proof of Auto Insurance in Nebraska?
Nebraska residents who want to register their motor vehicles first need to purchase automobile coverage. To prove that an adequate policy has been purchased, vehicle owners must carry an identification card or other approved proof of insurance that lists specific details about their plan. This helps law enforcement officers ensure that motorists maintain financial responsibility while driving across the Cornhusker State. This also helps to reduce the number of uninsured drivers on NE's estimated 92,791 miles of public roads. To legally drive there are several requirements that must be met, and being informed about these details can help vehicle owners remain better prepared for accidents, and aware of potentially fraudulent activity.
Failure to provide proof of Nebraska auto insurance when requested by a law enforcement officer can result in a fine ranging from $100 to $500. However, a motorist is allowed 10 days following the request to furnish proof that the automobile was insured to the appropriate prosecutor or county attorney. If this is done, the citation will be dismissed. In addition, knowing providing fraudulent proof of financial responsibility is considered a Class I misdemeanor and is punishable by a 1 year imprisonment and/or $1,000 fine.
According to Nebraska car insurance laws residents can only provide proof of coverage in the form of a card or binder if it comes from an insurer licensed to sell policies in the Cornhusker State. To help spot and stop fraudulent activity, residents are urged to be cautious of companies that request payments directly in the form of cash or money order; insurers that provide proof of coverage that looks suspicious or does not contain complete information; and businesses that do not provide sufficient proof at all. When a driver receives a legitimate identification card, it generally includes a fair amount of specific information.
Vehicle owners who buy Nebraska car insurance will typically receive an identification card or binder that proves the policyholder has met the state's financial responsibility requirements. The listed information generally includes:
- The name of the policyholder and those insured on the policy
- The name of the coverage provider
- The policy number
- The effective and expiration date of the policy
- The Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)
- And details about the insured automobile (Year, Make, etc)