|The laws of the state require motorists to maintain an extensive amount of coverage compared to other states in order to protect it's residence. For this very reason it can be wise to obtain multiple quotes from various insurers in order to make sure that one is not overpaying for protection. |
Compare and Find Cheap Auto Insurance in North DakotaThe main importance of comparing ND car insurance providers is that they charge each driver differently based on their statistics. Some of the more common factors that a company will look at in order to determine a premium are as follows:
When comparing providers one may come to realize that the rates may vary significantly. For this reason it is very important for consumers to take the time to compare prices and not make a haste decision and purchase the first policy offered. According to the North Dakota Guide to Automobile Insurance, shopping around is vital to lowering the cost of coverage. When completing comparisons one should always ask about any discounts that are offered. A discount can help save up to 20% on premiums. Being eligible for multiple discounts can help save even more.
- Driving history
- Marital status
- Year, make and model of vehicle
North Dakota Car Insurance LawThe minimum requirements in ND are quite extensive and are as follows:
If caught without being in compliance with ND auto insurance laws it is considered a class B misdemeanor and there is a mandatory fine of at least $150. If a motorist is involved in a collision and caught without coverage, the state will add 14 points to one's record which will result in a suspension of driving privileges. Also keep in mind that none of the required policies cover any damages to the vehicle of the insured. For this, one may want to consider adding comprehensive and collision coverage to their policy.
- Bodily injury liability: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident; this compensates the other party for bodily injuries which the policyholder is found liable for due to a traffic accident.
- Property damage liability: $25,000 per accident; this pays for any damages to the property of the other party caused by the policyholder as a result of a traffic accident
- Uninsured/Underinsured motorist coverage: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident. This pays for bodily injuries to policyholders and their passengers if struck by a motorist that does not carry the required limits, who is underinsured or if struck by a hit-and-run driver.
- Basic no-fault: $30,000 per person; this compensates the policyholder for losses such as medical expenses and lost wages due to an automobile accident regardless of who was at fault. This coverage is also known as Personal Injury Protection (PIP).