Georgia Car Insurance Laws, Rates, and Minimums
Obtaining and comparing multiple Georgia auto insurance quotes is an effective way to locate the cheapest policies available. OnlineAutoInsurance.com helps motorists compare rates from various companies with one simple process to find cheap coverage quickly and easily.
The state of Georgia makes it mandatory for drivers to buy GA car insurance and to maintain a liability policy as a minimum on all owned vehicles. The required coverage pays for damages to other people, vehicles, or property as a result of an automobile accident.
|Georgia Liability Auto Insurance Requirements|
|$25,000 per person for bodily injury|
|$50,000 per accident for bodily injury to two or more people|
|$25,000 per accident for property damage|
Georgia has technology giving the state the ability to verify the status of any vehicle's policy. Insuring companies are required to electronically notify the state's Department of Revenue of residents' policy status, which gives authorities the ability to verify whether coverage is active or canceled. This system was designed to reduce the number of uninsured drivers in the state of GA.
To inquire about a vehicle's policy status, check with Georgia's database online. Drivers will be asked for the title number and the vehicle identification number (VIN), which can obtained by looking at the vehicle registration. Remember to allow 30 days for a carrier to submit proof to the state before it appears in the database.
If an automobile is not insured for 10 days in a row, its registration could be suspended, and a fee will be charged for reinstatement once it is insured. Not having a vehicle covered could lead to other expensive fines including a citation, and even worse, an uncovered accident. Because of this, finding cheap auto insurance in GA and maintaining coverage is very important.
There are a few exceptions to this registration aspect of Georgia car insurance requirements and laws, including when an automobile is sold, turned in at the end of a lease, brought to a junkyard, salvaged or totally wrecked, repossessed, stolen or inoperable, or when the owner moves to another state. Some vehicles used seasonally may also qualify exception, such as those used primarily for agricultural purposes. Additionally, if the owner is in the military and is not using the automobile, he or she may qualify for an exception. If the automotive qualifies for any one of the exceptions, the owner will need to fill out an affidavit and submit it for approval.
|Georgia Auto Insurance Articles|
|Instantly Comparing Georgia Auto Insurance Quotes Online|