Idaho Car Insurance Laws, Rates, and Minimums
Shopping regularly and as far in advance as possible is the advice that is given by the state's Department of Insurance. It is also suggested to obtain and compare as many auto insurance quotes from various companies in order to find the cheapest rate. Both of these methods can help by giving the consumer the time to consider insurers and not making the wrong choice in a rushed decision. Comparing rates can be done effectively with the help of the Internet. Consumers can obtain the prices of premiums in a matter of minutes which will allow them to begin ID auto insurance comparisons and assist in locating the policies. Many individuals have chosen this method due to the convenience and effectiveness.
Shopping for Idaho Car Insurance Online
Upon completion and submission of a simple form, the applicant will be provided with multiple rates from companies who are approved to issue policies in ID. The application only requires basic information about the drivers and vehicles to be insured. No personal information such as driver's license and social security numbers are necessary to obtain quotations.
It is always wise to provide information as accurately as possible when looking to obtain cheap Idaho car insurance since these items can affect the price of a premium. The most common factors that affect the cost of coverage are:
- Driving history
- Year, make and model of vehicle
If invalid info is given whether shopping on or offline, one may see that the rate quoted may increase at the time they are completing the transaction. Individuals are choosing to buy ID auto insurance online because of the convenience that it provides. One can complete the purchase and receive instant proof with the use of an electronic payment and signature. Quotations are free and require no obligation and can be obtained without stepping foot outside which only adds to the convenience.
Idaho State Auto Insurance Laws
The ID car insurance laws require that all owners and drivers must purchase and carry "Proof of financial responsibility". This simply means that motorists must have proof that they have the ability to pay for damages that they are found liable for up to the stated amount on their policy. This is commonly known as liability and the minimum limits required are as follows:
- $25,000 for injury or death to one person
- $50,000 for injury or death to two or more people
- $15,000 for the damage of another party's property
State code also states that liability coverage must be issued in combination with an Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist policy. According to the Idaho Department of Insurance, the insured has the right to reject this protection but a rejection must be submitted in writing. This type of policy covers the injuries of the insured if they are involved in a traffic accident with a hit-and-run driver, a motorist that does not carry coverage or is underinsured. Therefore, it would be wise to take time to consider rejecting such protection before deciding to do so.