Louisiana Car Insurance
Get a fast and free car insurance rate comparison
The Louisiana's Consumer's Guide to Auto Insurance simply states, "Do not buy the first policy you hear about" and "Get quotes from several companies before you sign an application and pay a premium." With this in mind, one can obtain multiple auto insurance quotes quickly and conveniently online.
Obtaining Cheap Car Insurance in Louisiana
Shopping around is the best bet when it comes to finding the cheapest LA auto insurance premiums available. This is simply due to the fact that every company will charge the same applicant differently. By locating rates comparing prices, individuals have a better chance of finding the most affordable coverage.
When looking to obtain a policy, one should evaluate their needs and compare Louisiana car insurance based on what protection is necessary for their particular situation. By eliminating options on policies that would not be beneficial, consumers can save by not paying for options they may not need.
When comparing rates be sure to take advantage of any discount that may apply. Some of the common discounts available in LA are:
- Multi-car - this is having two or more cars insured with the same company
- Multi-line - similarly, this is having a vehicle and life or homeowners insured with the same carrier
- Good Driver - Many companies offer discounts for those with a clean driving record
- Good Student - Full-time students with a "B" average can receive a good student discount
- Some insurers offer farmers and senior citizens discounted rates
- Proof of completion of a defensive driving course can provide savings If additional safety features such as anti-lock brakes, anti-theft devices and air bags are equipped on vehicles, this may lower premiums. Be sure to inquire about any discounts that may apply when locating a provider.
Auto Insurance Law in Louisiana
Under LA car insurance laws liability coverage must be carried on any automobile owned. This covers bodily injury and/or property damage that the insured is be found liable for up to the policy limits. The minimum requirements are:
- $15,000 for bodily injury to one person
- $30,000 for bodily injury to two or more people
- $25,000 coverage for damage to someone else's property
As dictated in the Louisiana Consumer Guide to Auto Insurance, failure to carry proof of the required coverage can result in the vehicle being immediately impounded or the removal of license plates and a yellow sticker affixed to the back windshield. At this point the motorist is given three days to provide valid proof to the Office of Motor Vehicles.
If stopped by an officer after the three days, the officer can impound the automobile until evidence of a policy is provided and towing and reinstatement fees are paid. The fines can range from $75 up to $700 depending on the number of prior convictions. It can be far less expensive to always carry valid proof of a policy rather than faces these fees.