Living in Maine means you get access to lovely foliage, incredible rocky coasts, and some of the most beautiful summer weather in the country. But before you set out exploring your home state, you need to have car insurance.

Maine drivers pay, on average, a lot less for car insurance than the rest of the country. But that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t shop around. Putting in the extra effort will make sure that you have cheap car insurance that provides you the coverage you need in every scenario.

OnlineAutoInsurance.com can help you get instant online car insurance quotes and buy a policy online. The state's Bureau of Insurance recommends that you compare multiple quotes in order to find low-cost coverage in Maine. But before you start, you need to know the level of protection you need. So what is minimum coverage in Maine? And what other policies should you consider?

Minimum coverage for car insurance in Maine

Liability Coverage Uninsured Motorist Coverage Medical Payments Coverage
$50,000 for injury to or death of any one person $50,000 bodily injury per person $2,000 for medical bills per accident.
$100,000 for one accident resulting in injury to or death of more than one person $50,000 bodily injury per accident
$25,000 for property damage per accident
OR $125,000 Combined Single Limit - Includes injury, death and property damage.

Your liability insurance is designed to help you meet your financial responsibility if you cause an accident. That means your bodily injury policy will only pay medical expenses for the driver and passengers of other vehicles involved in an accident you are at fault for, and the property damage policy will only pay for other vehicles. The only way these policies will reimburse you is if the other driver takes the case to court. In those instances, your liability policy will also help pay legal fees.

Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist coverage will pay for your and your passengers’ medical bills and damage to your car, but only if another driver is at fault. If the other driver is insured, theirs will pay out first, and your underinsured motorist policy will pay the rest.

MedPay is a kind of no-fault insurance and will pay for your medical bills whether or not you are responsible for the accident. MedPay may also help you if you’re riding in a car and get injured, but only after the driver’s policy pays out.

The above is what the state financial responsibility law requires, but that doesn’t mean it’s right for everybody. Buying a higher coverage can help you properly protect your assets in case of a serious accident. Sometimes the cost of adding coverage or increasing your limits is slight, especially compared to what you might owe in a serious accident. Medical bills can easily skyrocket if a person has to get any emergency room care.

Driving without insurance

Car insurance laws in Maine are pretty clear—if you’re driving without proof of insurance, you will be fined between $100 to $500, and your driver’s license and registration may be suspended. That means you’ll have to pay a reinstatement fee for both, and your car insurance premiums will be higher when you do get coverage.

On top of that, if you get into an accident, you will be financially responsible for all the damages, with or without insurance. That could put you in serious debt for many years to come, on top of making it even harder to find an affordable car insurance policy. If you’re strapped for cash, driving without the minimum insurance isn’t the answer.

Comprehensive and Collision coverage

While the state’s laws require fairly extensive insurance coverage to legally drive, they won’t protect you in all instances. If you are responsible for an accident, you won’t get any help from your insurance company to repair your vehicle. And if your car is damaged by other events, like hail, or if it’s stolen, you could be stuck without a working vehicle.

That’s where Comprehensive and Collision coverage comes into play. Though state law doesn’t require it, you will be required to carry it by your lender as long as you don’t own your vehicle outright.

Collision coverage will pay to repair damages to your car no matter who’s at fault in an accident, or if you collide with a stationary object or structure. Comprehensive will cover theft, vandalism, collision with animals, and damage from fire, storms, or any other event outside of human control. The two policies together are often described as “full coverage” because between these policies and liability you are covered in most scenarios.

If you can’t get by without a vehicle, and you can’t afford costly repairs or replacement, adding these to your insurance policy will make sure you’re road-ready - especially since many of these policies will pay for rental vehicles while your car is getting repaired.

What are some of the factors used to determine Maine auto insurance rates?

  • Driving record: Companies will look at driving history for the previous 3 to 5 years. The more violations or accidents drivers have, the higher their rates are likely to be.
  • Garaging address: The area where one lives is a determining factor for premiums. Companies look at how often claims occur in a certain area and use the information to base rates.
  • Driver details: Gender, age, and marital status are also used to calculate a rate. Generally, a middle-aged female who is married will generate the lowest rates.
  • Credit Score
  • Vehicle Info: Make, model, type of use, and annual mileage are also factors affecting rates. Commercial use and/or high mileage generates a higher premium.
  • Discounts
  • Multi-car Discount: Having more than one vehicle on a policy will lower your rates.
  • Driver education courses: For older and younger people, a driver education certificate may provide a discount, depending on the company.
  • Multi-line Discount: Carrying other policies, like homeowners insurance, will lower your rates.
  • Accident prevention courses: For drivers over 55. Accident prevention course certificate required.
  • Good driver: For those with no or very few violations or accidents.
  • Good student: For those with a "B" average or higher. Proof may be required.
  • Vehicle equipment: For vehicles with safety devices such as airbags, anti-lock brakes, and anti-theft devices.
  • Low Mileage: If a vehicle is driven less than average on an annual basis.

Finding affordable car insurance

The best way to shop for your policy is to compare quotes from different car insurance companies at different types and levels of coverage. This will help you choose the best policy for your needs and budget. Obtaining Maine car insurance quotes is free and can lead to optimum savings and adequate protection.

Since each driver is different, there really isn't one single car insurance company out there that's the cheapest for everyone. Each driver should do a rate comparison in order to find out which company will give the lowest rates. OnlineAutoInsurance.com is here to help you do just that. Just complete the following form and compare Maine quotes from a variety of service providers.

The cheapest car insurance policy isn’t necessarily the best deal. You need to look at the deductible, the maximum limits, and the polices you’re buying. If they are sufficient to keep you protected in an accident, then the policy isn’t worth your money. Your insurance policy should provide adequate coverage for any scenario, so you can drive with peace of mind.

OnlineAutoInsurance.com proudly serves the following counties:

Androscoggin Hancock Oxford Somerset
Aroostook Kennebec Penobscot Waldo
Cumberland Knox Piscataquis Washington
Franklin Lincoln Sagadahoc York

The Maine Bureau of Insurance provides additional auto insurance consumer assistance.