Massachusetts Car Insurance Laws, Rates, and Minimums
Residents of Massachusetts are required to carry automobile coverage in order to operate their vehicles. According to the state's Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation, the best way to find cheap auto insurance quotes is to simply shop around and compare companies.
Compare MA car insurance quotes from multiple companies side by side:
The main reason that comparison shopping is important is as of April 1, 2008, insurers began to determine their own rates. Prior to that, premiums were set by the Commissioner of Insurance under the "fix-and-establish" system. Now that companies offer unique rates, there is the matter of competition. This forces insurers to keep their rates competitive and, by the same token consumers can benefit by comparing quotes and locating cheaper MA auto insurance premiums.
More about getting Massachusetts car insurance quotes:
Taking the time to compare Massachusetts auto insurance quotes is the most efficient way to save on coverage. Now that the state has allowed for providers to determine their own premiums and compete among themselves, consumers can take advantage of lower rates as well as discounts that now are available.
When looking to buy MA car insurance policies, getting quotations can be quick and easy when done online and can increase potential savings. There is a multitude of insurers providing coverage and it takes too much time to get a quote from each company individually. With an Internet-based application, consumers can find the most competitive premiums from reliable carriers delivered right to them with a few simple steps.
Massachusetts Auto Insurance Laws
According to MA car insurance laws there are several types of coverage that must be purchased. These include:
- $20,000 for bodily injury to another person as a result of an accident
- $40,000 for bodily injuries to two or more people per accident
- $8,000 for personal injury protection (PIP)
- $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident for bodily injury caused by an uninsured motorist
- $5,000 for property damage
The state follows a no-fault system. This means that the insured's injuries will be paid for by the insurer no matter who is at fault up to a specified limit. The required uninsured limits protect the covered person and his or her passengers if struck and injured by a driver who does not have a policy or is underinsured. PIP helps pay for medical expenses for the insured and/or passengers.