Mississippi Car Insurance Laws, Rates, and Minimums
State law requires that all motorists carry a liability policy at all times while operating their vehicles. Due to the fact that this is required, it may be wise to complete a comparison of quotes from various companies in order to ensure that the best rate has been found from a reliable insurer.
Obtaining the rates of various carriers no longer has to be the chore that it once was. In the past consumers were relegated to either calling various insurers individually or having to visit the offices of agents or brokers. Thanks to the Internet there are several websites available that will provide multiple rates from a variety of carriers within minutes. This can help save valuable time as well as make finding affordable Mississippi car insurance coverage a whole lot easier.
Getting Cheap Car Insurance in Mississippi
The most important step to finding the cheapest coverage is to get as many quotations from different companies as possible. This is simply due to the fact that each company will charge every driver differently. By comparing MS auto insurance prices from different insurers consumers will quickly realize that the cost of premiums can vary significantly. This allows the consumer the ability to see what price range they can expect to pay and discard any quotes which may seem unreasonable.
Many providers offer various discounts. When trying to find a lower premium be sure to ask about any discount which may apply. Some of the most common items that will offer a reduction in premiums are as follows:
- Good driver
- Good student ( "B" grade point average or higher)
- Completion of a safe driver course
- Safety equipment (airbags, anti-lock brakes, automatic seatbelts, etc.)
- Anti-theft devices (low-jack, alarms, etc.)
Although finding the lowest price is important to many, one should not choose to buy Mississippi car insurance from a provider based on cost alone. An individual should make sure that there carrier is financially stable enough to honor any claims that may be filed. One can easily check on a company's financial strength through various agencies available online.
Mississippi Auto Insurance Laws
The Mississippi car insurance laws state that drivers maintain the minimum liability requirements at all times while occupying the roadways. These policies consist of two parts. Bodily Injury and Property Damage. The following are the minimums required:
- $25,000 for bodily injury to one person
- $50,000 for bodily injury to two or more people
- $25,000 for the property damage of another party
One should be aware that this only compensates the other parties involved in the traffic accident. This does not compensate the policyholder for any injuries or damages they sustain. According to the MS compulsory liability automobile insurance law, motorists must keep a proof of coverage in their vehicles at all times. Failure to maintain a policy can result in a fine of $1,000 and suspension of driving privileges for one year or until proof of coverage is shown. Not being in compliance can become more costly than being insured in the first place.