Nebraska Car Insurance Laws, Rates, and Minimums
It is mandated by state law that all vehicles have proof of financial responsibility, also known as liability coverage. According to the National Association of Insurance Commissioner (NAIC), obtaining auto insurance quotes and comparison shopping is a very useful method of finding affordable coverage.
Companies charge each driver differently and this is one reason that shopping around can be extremely beneficial. In addition to that, insurers charge lower rates to those with a good driving record. In order to obtain cheap Nebraska car insurance and keep premiums down, motorists should always practice safe driving and obey traffic laws.
Obtaining Cheap Car Insurance Quotes in Nebraska
The first rule of saving is to locate multiple rates from various companies and completing an NE auto insurance comparison of not only price but the companies as well. It is absolutely necessary to compare to save. When filling out an application it is very important to provide information as accurate and complete as possible. By not doing so, the carriers may not be able to deliver a quote accurately.
When shopping around to buy Nebraska car insurance be sure to ask about the following discounts:
- Good driver
- Multiple vehicles on a policy
- Good student
- Mature driver
- Airbags and other safety equipment
- Anti-theft devices
- Automobile and home covered by same company
One should also know what type of protection will benefit them the most. Paying for options that one does not need is just as bad as not acquiring protection that can be vital down the road. There are various tips for saving money on auto insurance to assist consumers in becoming properly covered.
Auto Insurance Laws in Nebraska
Proof of financial responsibility must be carried in a vehicle at all times. This document must be an original and issued by an insurer that is authorized to issue policies in NE. The certificate of insurance must contain the following information:
- Name of policy provider;
- Names of insured;
- Policy number;
- Year and make of vehicle;
- Model of automobile and/or the last three digits of the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)
- Effective and expiration dates of coverage
The Nebraska car insurance laws require liability coverage to be maintained at all times while a vehicle is registered with limits as follows; $25,000 for bodily injury or death of one person and $50,000 for the injuries or death of two or more people in any one accident and $25,000 for the damage of property per accident.