West Virginia Car Insurance
Get a fast and free car insurance rate comparison
The law in West Virginia states that all registered vehicles are required to be insured at all times in order to be operated legally. The price for coverage can vary significantly for each driver and automobile from one company to the next. For this reason motorists should compare quotes from multiple insurers in order to comply with state laws at an affordable rate.
Get a West Virginia Auto Insurance Quote
Obtaining multiple quotes from various insurers is a very important step in order to find cheap WV car insurance coverage. When looking to gather rates the consumer should be ready with a few items that are necessary in order for companies to calculate premiums and help speed up the process. When shopping one should have the following information handy:
- Names and ages of drivers to be insured
- Vehicle year, make and model
- Vehicle identification number
- Address where automobiles will be garaged
Motorists can now get quotations easily and conveniently online. By logging on they will be provided with a brief application form. Upon submitting the above mentioned information and choosing the type of coverage that they would like, they will receive pricing from a variety of reliable carriers. Once an individual has received rates from different companies, they will quickly come to realize just how much prices can vary. This is why it is important to obtain quotations and complete a WV auto insurance comparison before purchasing a policy.
West Virginia Car Insurance Laws
The state follows the Compulsory Insurance Law which is designed to protect the insured and all motorists who operate a vehicle. In order to be in compliance with this requirement, all registered vehicles must be insured with the following minimum liability limits:
- $20,000 for bodily injury to one person
- $40,000 for injuries to two or more people
- $10,000 for property damage
In accordance with the West Virginia car insurance laws motorists are required to carry proof of coverage at all times in the form of a WV-1(Certificate of Insurance) while driving their vehicle. This will be requested by a law enforcement officer during any traffic stop or following an accident. The Division of Motor Vehicles will also request this at the time of registration and also verify that it is valid.
Driving without a policy in place can result in the suspension of registration and driving privileges. The reinstatement fee is $100 and the driver's license is suspended for 30 days; a second offense will result in 90 days.