Wyoming Car Insurance Laws, Rates, and Minimums
State law requires that all motorists maintain a liability policy that meets the financial responsibility requirements. This coverage must be maintained at all times while operating a vehicle. The state's Department of Insurance encourages consumers to shop around and compare quotes from different companies in order to find the most affordable coverage.
Comparing Car Insurance in Wyoming
The importance of completing a comparison of rates and insurers comes down to the fact that each company will quote each individual differently. Therefore, the more rates one has do compare from, the more choices they give themselves and ultimately save on their new policy.
A rapidly increasing method of comparing rates is with the help of the Internet. Consumers can now be provided with multiple quotes from various insurers within a matter of minutes, which can speed up the process of finding cheap WY auto insurance and the right company. Individuals should not choose a policy on price alone, there are other aspects that may be just as important.
A Wyoming car insurance comparison should be done on a company's financial stability and their customer service as well. Financial position is important because this shows the insurer's ability to pay out claims when they are obligated to. If a company is not financially sound the insured may find themselves struggling to obtain compensation after filing a claim. There are many agencies online that rate providers and can be accessed by the general public. These companies will give a rating and a definition of what it entails. It may be wise to avoid a carrier who may look to be in bad shape financially.
Customer service and the claims department are vital because these are the departments that will have to be dealt with if one were to have to make a change to a policy or file a claim. Neither process should have to become a hassle, especially after having been involved in a traffic accident. So if the support is not sufficient that is being provided to customers, it may be a good idea to look elsewhere.
Wyoming Auto Insurance Laws
After buying WY auto insurance policies, all automobile operators must have proof of a liability policy at all times. The minimum required limits are 25/50/20 which translates into the following:
- $25,000 for bodily injury to one person
- $50,000 for bodily injury to two or more people
- $20,000 for property damage
As of July 1, 1991, the Wyoming car insurance laws gave law enforcement officers the right to request proof of coverage at any time. If a driver cannot provide the proof they will have seven days to produce such documentation. Failure to comply can result in a fine of up to $750, imprisonment of up to 6 months, or both. As of January 1, 1993 vehicles could no longer be registered without evidence of a policy in effect. For more information in regards to being in compliance one can refer to the WY Motor Vehicle Safety-Responsibility Act that describes the law.