Utah Car Insurance Laws
Automobile insurance is a valuable product to have, and purchasing a Utah automobile policy with the right amount of coverage could mean the difference between quickly recovering from an accident and acquiring a large amount of debt from being underinsured. Because Utah is a No-Fault state all motorists must have a policy that contains Personal Injury Protection with a limit of $3,000 to pay for potential injuries sustained by the insured motorist regardless of fault. To also keep residents financially responsible in the event of an accident, drivers must maintain $25,000 for bodily injury liability for a single person with $65,000 per accident, and $15,000 for property damage liability.
Driving without this minimum amount of coverage in the Beehive State could have some serious consequences. If a resident is unable to provide proof of insurance if asked by the Department of Motor Vehicles or by a law enforcement officer, they may be convicted of a Class B misdemeanor and experience a series of penalties and fines. An offending motorist may have their automobile registration suspended, and obtain a fine of no less than $400 for the first offense and $1,000 for subsequent offenses within a period of three years. Additionally, the offending motorist may have their licenses suspended by the Utah Department of Public Safety, and will usually not be able to have it renewed unless they first pay a reinstatement fee and provide sufficient proof of coverage.
Reinstating one's vehicle registration in the Beehive State can mean additional fines and inconveniences for individuals that choose to break state insurance laws. Residents must be able to provide evidence that they are the owners of the vehicle in question, present photo identification such as a driver's license or passport, pay a $100 reinstatement fee, and be able to provide proof that they are adequately insured. In order to verify coverage the state typically accepts either an SR-22 obtained from a policy provider that is licensed to sell Utah auto insurance policies, a current policy, declaration, or binder.
A motorist that has been previously caught without the proper levels of vehicle protection is typically watched by the UT Department of Public Safety (DPS) for a mandatory period of three years. During this time the offending driver must keep the DPS informed of any policy terminations, and if coverage is dropped at any point they must surrender their driver's license. In the event that the aforementioned driver wishes to apply for another license within that same three year period, they must present proof of car insurance coverage in one of the previously mentioned forms. To avoid these consequences and fines it is usually best to purchase a vehicle protection plan that contains at least the minimum levels of personal injury protection and liability.